The Dolní Vítkovice Area, a unique cultural monument where between the years 1828 and 1998 coal was mined and pig iron was produced, forms an inseparable part of Ostrava. (more…)
The discovery of coal in 1763 in Burňa Valley in Polish Ostrava brought Ostrava a universal recovery. Owner of the land, count František Josef Wilczek, began with regular mining in 1787. (more…)
Local artisans, mostly honourable citizens and proprietors of the houses on the square, significantly contributed to the prosperity of Ostrava. (more…)
The base of the city and up to this day also its natural centre is formed by Moravian Ostrava. The first mention of this locality comes from the testament of the Bishop of Olomouc from 29 November 1267. In January 1279, it was mentioned as a town where the Bishop of Olomouc was currently residing.
There are three universities in Ostrava: VŠB – Technical University of Ostrava, University of Ostrava and College of Entrepreneurship and Law; together they have nearly 28,000 students.
In terms of both population and area, Ostrava is the third largest city in the Czech Republic. It is located 10 kilometers south of the Polish border and 50 kilometers west of the Slovak border.
The mammoth hunters had their encampments on Landek Hill already in the Paleolithic Age, as evidenced by numerous archaeological finds. The most important discovery is a 48-mm-high torso of a female figure from hematite known as the Venus of Petřkovice.
The coat of arms with the horse, which is so characteristic for Ostrava, has been around for a very long time. It is displayed on the oldest surviving Ostrava seal, which is on a document from publisher Lorek of Šonov and his brother Mikuláš and dates to 11 November 1426.
In the Middle Ages, Ostrava was an important centre for episcopal villages in its vicinity. Its core consisted of a quadrangular square that is preserved in the same place today (Masaryk Square).